Fellow IDTers!

Welcome to EDUC-6115-2! How is everyone doing so far?  As I enter the realm of Blogging, I am realizing its potential as an effective learning tool.  Up until this course, I had viewed it as a mere, idle Social Media chatter.  Admittedly, I was wrong.  It all depends on the content, and the purpose of the blog.  What’s more, it is a great way to improve one’s writing skills.  I hope you find the information on my blog helpful and relevant to your Instructional Design education and career.

Thousands of clicks later – until about a year ago, I had not heard the term Instructional Design.  I came across it during my search for a Business Analyst/Technical Writer jobs.  One of the job sites I was on (I think it was indeed.com) had an ad for Technical Writing Certificate program.  Out of curiosity, I clicked on the ad, and that click led to thousands more until I finally discovered Instructional Design at Walden University.  What I discovered during my search was that the terms Instructional Design, Technical Communication, and Technical Writing were used interchangeably.  So for those who might want to know the differences, The Writers Gateway site, in its blog “Technical Writing vs Instructional Designing – Is it really a tug of war?” explains it really well.

What will I do with my M.S. in Instructional Design & Technology Degree?  When I finish my program, my goal is to pursue employment at the United Nations as a trainer/consultant/instructional designer in programs focused on educational development for developing nations, primarily Africa.  So to keep abreast of education (academic or other) and educational technology, eLearning Africa News Portal is an excellent source.  Subscription to their Newsletter is free.  I thought this site might give us insights to Instructional Design from a developing nation’s perspective.

Theories – various Instructional Design Models & Theories are discussed at Instructional Design Central.  I particularly liked Dr. Merrill’s First Principles of Instruction, his thoughts on “information dumps”, and his thoughts on motivation—truly an eye-opener.  The site also has an Instructional Design Central Forum that you can join in through LinkedIn.

On the topic of theories, we covered three learning theories in our class this week: Behaviorism, Cognitivism, and Constructivism.  As I searched the Internet for supplemental information on these theories, I discovered an additional theory that was not discussed, the Humanism Theory, which I thought was very interesting.  The focus of this theory is on “…the human freedom, dignity, and potential.  A central assumption of humanism, according to Huitt (2011), is that people act with intentionality and values.”  Check it out.

One of the great things about the Instructional Designer career is that we have the opportunity to serve in any industry.  I loved this article, Instructional Designers Are Content Neutral, by Connie Malamed on the eLearningcoach site.  The site is abundant with Instructional Design information from Storyboard Templates to Stock Photo and Illustration Sites.

Thank you for reading and I look forward to your comments.

Marta

References:

Huitt, W. (2001). Humanism and open education. Educational Psychology Interactive. Valdosta, GA: Valdosta State University. Retrieved September 11, 2007, from the URL:  http://chiron.valdosta.edu/whuitt/col/affsys/humed.html.

2 thoughts on “Fellow IDTers!

  1. Great job Marta!

    Growing up I wanted to work for the UN. Maybe if I lived closer to New York I could have made that dream a reality. I really like the article about instructional designers being content natural. I have jokingly said in the past that if you give me two days head start I can teach just about anything. I wish I could remember which reading it was this week that talked about recruit peer teachers. I know that I have a much harder time relating learning to my students in areas that I am a highly trained in.

    Again, great job. I am really glad that you are in my classes with me.

    Marc

Leave a Reply

